#Weaning off #HeadMeds #mentalhealth #medication #sideeffects mixed with a #citybreak & its effects on #wellbeing featuring #5waystowellbeing #TakeNotice & #Mindfulness 

Gooooooood Evening London,

(Well, I’m writing this on the plane home so hopefully I’ll be in London when it publishes and I touch down in London Town!)

I’ve just had the most gorgeous little minibreak in Rome ✌🏻️🙌🏻 if there’s one thing I love, it’s a city break/escape = 2-3 nights of leisure and pleasure at a place of your fancy. It does wanders for the senses, and boy does Rome alert all 5. 

Before I get into that though, let’s add a little context – I’m almost 3 weeks now 3 weeks! into ‘coming off my meds’ (how long is that even meant to last by the way? Like, am I ‘Abbie’ now as in Abbie without drugs? Surely the meds shelf life = how long something stays in your body – is way gone…) I guess what I’m trying to say is that I feel quite internally naked since coming off. 

I don’t know whether that’s the usual anxiety side effects or me mentally coming to terms with my decision to come off them. 

I’m definitely more paranoid which I think is a side effect or maybe it’s me? Good luck friends and family if it is as it isn’t exactly a joy to need to reassure someone every 5 mins! 

All in all, I’m doing really well though, I think (hi again, paranoia – I can even see it in my own writing!!). 

I was having a tough week when luckily my partners 30th was approaching and I’d booked us to go Rome, Italy. A place where your tongue is in constant heaven and your eyes and mouth fall open wide at the AWEsome sites and scents. Our legs were stretched as we explored by foot and we had an incredible break away with some QT together. 

I made a point of conversation with my partner though, that you don’t have to be ‘away’ from home to experience the mindful/Take Notice (one of the 5 ways to Wellbeing) elements where your senses are heightened, but it really does help. With being anxious and teary off meds in the beginning, being in the present (mindful) has really helped and my parter made a conscious effort to remind me to do so if I started to get paranoid. Must be exhausting for him. “Nonsense!” He’ll say to that. He has some brilliantly British expressions that make me chuckle! 

Note to self, I’m going to try and be more mindful now that I’m back and do things one step at a time. I need to stay present where possible and as for friends and family, please bare with me paranoia/anxiety wise…(you may have not been around me to notice or maybe noticed more in our physical distance, who knows!) but I’m just trying to be me. Whatever stage of this being off meds I’m  in, and trying to make sense of it. 

Ooh! We’ve landed, a nice RyanAir bang kind of landing… 🙈

Better put the phone down and appreciate good old cold London.

Good night folks,

Love Abs x 💚

Leave a Reply

