Grief, mentalh health, Uncategorized

First blog post

Hello and a warm welcome.

Although I love to write, creatively, poetically and in general, I’ve never blogged before. I’m hoping this will be a good outlet to air and share some of the things I truly care about and what affects me and my mental health.

As a young woman mid 20’s living in London I’m perceived as a rather happy lass. I smile a lot, laugh a lot, and have a huge heart big enough to love unconditionally those in my circle. Gratitude is a big part of my spirituality. I’m not religious although I do believe in something and I’ve been known to pray although I’m not sure what or who to..(the universe? a God? I just carry hope and it’s something I’ve always done since being a kid. My mum always believed in some sort of ‘higher power’, I think I’ll stick with that. I find comfort in sharing commonalities with my mum who passed away when I was 14.

In this blog you’ll find I may write a lot about her. I’m still grieving, 12 years on, for my best friend, who’s mental illness got the better of her.

I envisage that in this blog I will write openly about my own mental health, to raise awareness and support the breakdown of stigma (and stigmatising myself).

I’m not in the best place mentally right now, struggling in a depressive episode (which is one of the reasons I decided to write the first post today, to let it out and get it out) so this will be short and (bitter)sweet as some may know it’s hard to even do much in this state let alone make sense of our feelings. So I will say goodbye for now, but I’ll be back soon. X

 

1 thought on “First blog post”

  1. That is wonderfully well written. It’s really nice to know that this is your first post and I look forward to hearing more about how you get on. I know it’s not easy to tell the world how you feel so thank you for sharing this. I hope you feel better soon x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

